Faculty members in UF’s College of Journalism and Communications have a strong history of conducting and publishing research, both theoretical and practical, in journalism and communications fields.  These efforts continue to elevate the exceptional reputation of the College that their predecessors built over the decades.

The College has had 15 faculty members receive the UF Research Foundation Professorship, a prestigious award which goes to UF faculty members who have a distinguished record of research and a strong research agenda that is likely to lead to continuing distinction in their fields.

UF Research Foundation Professors

2016 Jon Morris
2015 Wayne Wanta
2014 Amy Jo Coffey
2013 Sylvia Chan-Olmsted
2012 Ron Rodgers
2011 Cory Armstrong
2010 Juan-Carlos Molleda
2009 Spiro Kiousis
2008 Kim Walsh-Childers

2007 Lynda Lee Kaid
2006 Laurence Alexander
2005 John Kaplan
2004 Bernell Tripp
2003 Sandra Dickson
2002 Sylvia Chan-Olmsted
2001 James Babanikos
2000 Linda Hon
1998 Debbie Treise

The level of faculty productivity in the College of Journalism and Communications during the past six years has increased significantly. College faculty have produced more refereed conference paper presentations as well as publications.

Specifically, the faculty presented 306 refereed conference papers and published 344 refereed articles, book chapters, monographs, and books in the last six years, averaging 51 refereed paper presentations and 57 publications per year. The increase in scholarship activities is likely the result of the College’s efforts in developing research support programs/infrastructures and clearly defined scholarly/creative activities expectations.

The College has consistently had the highest number of refereed papers accepted for presentation at the AEJMC national conference from among its peer institutions. The record is again indicative of the high productivity level of the College’s faculty and graduate students.