College News

Back to News

CJC Honors Faculty, Staff and Students for Outstanding Scholarship and Service

The University of Florida College of Journalism and Communications honored outstanding alumni, faculty, staff and graduate and undergraduate students during the annual awards ceremony that was presented virtually on April 16.

The College honored five alumni who were inducted into the Hall of Fame in 2020:

  • Edward Aschoff, S. Journalism 2008, former ESPN college football reporter
  • Kenneth Ebanks, B.S. Advertising 1985, Vice President and Deputy General Counsel for eBay’s Marketplace
  • Lauren Roseman, B.S. Telecommunication 2006, Senior Vice President of Entertainment Publicity at NBCUniversal
  • Flody Suarez, B.S. Advertising 1984, award-winning TV and theatrical producer
  • Tonyaa Weathersbee, B.S. Journalism 1981, M.A.M.C. 2016, metro columnist for The Commercial Appeal in Memphis, Tennessee and intercultural communication scholar

Four alumni were inducted into the College’s  Hall of Fame for 2021:

  • Juan Andrade, B.S. Journalism 1986 and B.A. Political Science, President and CEO of Everest Re Group Ltd.
  • Cheryl Lucanegro, B.S. Journalism 1974, former Vice President of Advertising Strategy at SoundHound
  • Rick Stern, B.S. Telecommunication 1990, CEO and founder of Nitel
  • Xuan H. Tahi, B.S. Telecommunication 1998, Deputy Bureau Chief Southern Region for NBCUniversal Media

Following is the full list of faculty and student awards.

Faculty and Staff

Graduate and Research

  • Moritz Cleve, Julie Dodd Outstanding Graduate Student Teaching Award
  • Noura Ibrahim, Outstanding Master’s Student
  • Amanda Kastrinos, Outstanding Student Research Award

Undergraduate Awards

College-Wide Awards

  • Karina Elwood, Ruth and Rae O. Weimer Award
  • Omar Howard and Nicole Lopez, Dean’s Cup for Professional Promise
  • Morgan Band, Amanda Meyering and Stephanie Strickland, Dean’s Cup for Scholarship
  • Zachariah Chou and Catalina Santana Hernandez, Dean’s Cup for Service


  • Megan Pirino, Outstanding Advertising Scholar
  • Maria Valdivia, Joseph R. Pisani Service Award
  • Cameron Hassen, W. Robert Glafcke Award
  • Nicole Lopez, Richard W. McGinnis Professional Promise Award
  • Gabrielle (Gabby) Halterman Robles, John Sutherland Great Ideas Award
  • Sydney Schultheis, Respess Award


  • Sophie Feinberg and Brittney Miller, Outstanding Journalism Scholar
  • Victor Prieto, John Paul Jones Jr. Award
  • Kyle Wood, Elmer Emig Award
  • Karina Elwood, H.G. “Buddy” Davis Award
  • Rosemery Izaguirre and Melissa Hernandez, Society of Professional Journalists Award
  • Zachariah Chou, Jean Chance Service Award

Public Relations

  • Amanda Meyering, Outstanding Public Relations Scholar
  • Brittany Higginbotham, Frank K. Rathbun PRSSA Award
  • Catalina Santana Hernandez, Charles Wellborn Service Award
  • Omar Howard, Jack Detweiler Professional Promise in Public Relations Award
  • Carolyn Lok, Florida Public Relations Association Award


  • Stephanie Strickland and Morgan Band Outstanding Telecommunication Scholar
  • Emily Harrell, Major Garland Powell Award
  • Krishen Kumar, Mary Burton Award
  • Stephanie Strickland, F. Leslie Smith Management Award
  • Christopher O’Brien, WJXT-TV Award

Media Properties

  • Joseline Donoso, Jon Quattlebaum Award
  • Anthony Montalto, Ralph L. Lowenstein Broadcast News Award
  • Taylor Levesque, Kenneth A. Christiansen Award
  • Taylor Vorburger, Frank Counts TV Production and Creative Services Award
  • Lindsey Studstill, “Red” Barber Award
  • Anneliese Linder, Doris Bardon Award
  • Alyssa Feliciano, Excellence in Digital Media Award
  • Anthony Bordanaro, Excellence in Multimedia Meteorology Award
  • Alyssa Campa, Excellence in Media Leadership
  • Daniela Gonzalez, Excellence in Spanish-Language Media Award

Posted: April 16, 2021
Category: Alumni News, College News, Student News
Tagged as: , , , , , , , , ,