Collier Prize for State Government Accountability

The $25,000 Collier Prize for State Government Accountability at the University of Florida is one of the largest journalism prizes in the nation. It is designed to encourage coverage of state-level government in every state, focusing on investigative and political reporting. The prize, announced annually at the White House Correspondents’ Association dinner,  recognizes the best U. S. professional reporting on state government accountability in any medium or on any platform and is available to any news organization.

2024 Winners

A collaboration among the Texas Tribune, ProPublica and FRONTLINE to report on the tragic mishandling of the active-shooter situation at Robb Elementary School in Uvalde, Texas, on May 24, 2022, received the 2024 Collier Prize for State Government Accountability.

Public Health Watch and several partner organizations won second place for “Toxic Texas Air.” The Democrat & Chronicle of Rochester, New York, was awarded third place for its coverage of the aftermath of the bomb cyclone blizzard in Buffalo, New York, in December 2022.


For more information, send an e-mail to or complete this form.