University of Florida College of Journalism and Communications Telecommunication junior Laurel Biddy has received the Broadcast Education Association (BEA) Richard Eaton Foundation Award. Biddy was one of nine students from seven different campuses that were awarded scholarships in the BEA 2018-2019 competition. The winners were selected by the BEA Scholarship…

Read more
Posted: November 28, 2017

The University of Florida College of Journalism and Communications and media technology innovator Futuri Media have partnered on an unprecedented research and development lab – GHQ – Futuri’s first engagement with a higher-education institution. The announcement was made during a presentation titled “Millennials, Gen Z’ers, and the Future of Media”…

Read more
Posted: April 27, 2017

Ginger Blackstone, Ph.D. Mass Communication 2016, has been named the recipient of the 2017 Kenneth Harwood Outstanding Dissertation Award from the Broadcast Educators Association (BEA) for “The Worst of Times: The Prevalence and Power of Fear in Television News.” Established by Kenneth Harwood, Professor at the University of Houston and a…

Read more
Posted: March 30, 2017