About SJR

About Science Journalist in Residence

Launched in 2014, UF’s Science Journalist in Residence (SJR) Program brings leading science writers to the UF campus each academic year. (The program has continued during the pandemic, with science journalists appearing at UF virtually). Journalists typically give a public talk and spend two to three days speaking in classes and interacting with faculty and students interested in their work. Funded by the Office of the Provost, the program is housed and directed by the College of Journalism and Communications but open to participation by students and faculty in all colleges.

SJR Committee

Cynthia Barnett, Environmental Journalist in Residence, College of Journalism and Communications (SJR Committee chair)

Jay Hmielowski, Assistant Professor, Department of Public Relations

Aaron Hoover, Director of Executive Communications, Office of the President

Joseph Kays, Director, UF Research Communications

Chris Moran, Special Assistant to the VP, IFAS

Anna-Lisa Paul, research professor, Department of Horticultural Sciences

Czerne Reid, Lecturer and Program Director, Online Graduate and Certificate Programs, Department of Psychiatry

Melanie Fridl Ross, Chief Communications Officer, UFHealth

Serra Sowers, President, UF’s Science CommuniGators student organization

Kim Walsh-Childers, Journalism Professor, College of Journalism and Communications