College Directory

Seungahn Nah

Diane Snedaker Chair in Media Trust and Research Director - Consortium on Trust in Media and Technology

Office: 1200 Weimer Email:


Nah is Professor, Inaugural Dianne Snedaker Chair in Media Trust, and Research Director of the Consortium on Trust in Media and Technology (CTMT), part of the UF AI Initiative.

Nah was Professor of Journalism and Media Studies at the University of Oregon’s School of Journalism and Communication, where he served as the Inaugural Associate Dean for Graduate Affairs and Research and directed the Digital Media and Civic Engagement Project. Prior to joining UO, he was Associate Professor of Communication and Information Communication Technology (ICT) at the University of Kentucky.

Nah’s scholarship centers on the interrelationships among communication, community, and democracy with special emphasis on the roles of digital communication technologies, including AI-enabled technologies, and media credibility in community and democratic processes and outcomes. In particular, his research sheds light on community storytelling networks through social and mobile media and AI-communication, news trust, and civic engagement across diverse ethnic and racial groups as well as communities at the local, national, and global levels.

Nah received his Ph.D. from the University of Wisconsin-Madison and his Master’s and Bachelor’s degrees from Yonsei University, Seoul, South Korea. He has written, edited, and published numerous books and more than 70 journal articles and book chapters concerning digital media, AI, news credibility, participatory communication, and civic participation.

His research has been funded by the National Science Foundation, News Voices Project through the Knight Foundation, NAVER, South Korean Google among others. His work has appeared in prestigious journals, such as Journal of Communication, Communication Theory, Journal of Computer-Mediated Communication, New Media & Society, Communication Research, Journalism & Mass Communication Quarterly, and International Journal of Communication among others. He is a recipient of numerous top paper awards from the Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication (AEJMC), the International Communication Association (ICA), the American Political Science Association (APSA), and the World Association of Public Opinion Research (WAPOR). He was also a recipient of the University of Kentucky Provost’s Outstanding Teaching Award and was a fellow of the Academic Leadership Academy.

He served as Head of Mass Communication and Society Division of Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication (AEJMC) and President of Korean American Communication Association (KACA). Moreover, he served as an associate editor of the Mass Communication and Society and the Journal of Communication, the flagship journal of the International Communication Association (ICA). He currently serves on a dozen editorial board member for Journal of Computer-Mediated Communication, New Media & Society, Journalism & Mass Communication Quarterly, International Journal of Communication, Mass Communication and Society, Human-Machine Communication among others. He is a Principal Investigator of the Worlds of Journalism Study (WJS), a global project with more than 120 countries involved.

Areas of Expertise

Artificial Intelligence (AI), Disinformation / Misinformation, Emerging Media (gaming, VR, etc.), Journalism, Political Communication, Social Media, Trust


Ph.D., University of Wisconsin-Madison
Master’s degree, Yonsei University in Seoul, South Korea
Bachelor’s degree, Yonsei University in Seoul, South Korea



Syllabi from the current and three previous semesters: