Alumni and Friends

CJC Pulitzer Winners CJC Pulitzer Winners


  • Jennifer Jenkins, B.S. Journalism 2010, (The Washington Post) for national reporting as a staff researcher on the team that created a national database to illustrate how often and why the police shoot to kill and who the victims are most likely to be.


  • Essdras Suarez, B.S. Journalism/PhotoJournalism 1993, (The Boston Globe), for breaking news reporting as part of the Boston Globe editorial staff covering the Boston Marathon bombing.


  • Debbie Cenziper, B.S. Journalism 1992, (The Washington Post), for explanatory reporting on widespread problems in Miami-Dade County’s public housing agency.


  • David Finkel, B.S. Journalism 1977, (The Washington Post), for explanatory reporting for U.S. attempts to bring democracy to Yemen.


  • Karen DeYoung, B.S. Journalism 1971, (The Washington Post), for national reporting as part of the team reporting on the war on terrorism.


  • Stephanie Sinclair, B.S. Journalism 1998, (Chicago Tribune), for explanatory reporting as part of the team profiling the chaotic American air traffic system


  • Phil Kuntz, B.S. Journalism 1984, (Wall Street Journal), for national affairs as part of the team detailing U.S. defense spending and military deployment post-Cold War.
  • Essdras Suarez, B.S. Journalism/PhotoJournalism 1993, (Rocky Mountain News), for breaking news photography as part of the photo staff covering the Columbine High School shooting.


  • Jeff Nesmith, B.S. Journalism 1973, (Dayton Daily News), for national reporting (with colleague Russell Carollo) for uncovering mismanagement in the military healthcare system.
  • Elizabeth Hefelfinger, B.S. Journalism 1992, (Grand Forks (ND) Herald, on loan from the Tallahassee Democrat), for public service as part of a team covering natural disasters in that city.


  • Jim McGee, B.S. Journalism 1975, (Miami Herald), for national affairs as part of the Miami Herald team coverage of the Iran-Contra affair.


  • Buddy Davis, B.S. Journalism 1948, M.A. 1952, (Gainesville Sun), for editorial writing supporting the peaceful desegregation of Florida’s schools.


  • Howard Norton, B.S. Journalism 1933, (Baltimore Sun), for public service for stories on the administration of unemployment compensation in Maryland.