College News

Back to News

UF CJC Students Win Multiple Honors in Inaugural Florida Association of Broadcast Journalists Competition

University of Florida College of Journalism and Communications student journalists were recently recognized by the Florida Association of Broadcast Journalists, formerly known as  Florida Associated Press Broadcasters. The organization promotes excellence and education in broadcast journalism throughout Florida.

The 2019 professional competition included 550 entries from 37 television and radio stations in every media market in Florida.

Radio professional competition winners include:

Best General Assignment Reporting: First Place, Gabriella Mercurio, “President Trump Visits the Villages”

Best Public Affairs: First Place, WUFT Staff, “Generation Gunned Down

Best Sports Feature: First Place, Skyler Lebron, “Mr. Two-Bits”

Best Use of Sound: Honorable Mention, Taylor Levesque, “Tom Petty Birthday Bash”

Best General Assignment – Long: Honorable Mention, Sofia Mingote, “Local Vaping Laws”

Best Continuing Coverage: Honorable Mention, WUFT Staff, “Hurricane Dorian”

The college competition included 50 entries featuring 2019 news and sports stories entries from more than 12 Florida-based college and university broadcasting programs.

Television and radio college competition winners include:

Environmental Reporting: First Place, Meredith Sheldon, WUFT-TV, “Louisiana’s Cancer Alley
Education: First Place, Zach Oliveri, WUFT-TV, “Returning to School After Michael”
Feature – Hard News: First Place, Quan Mcwil, WUFT-TV, “Hammett Bowen Junior: A Hometown Hero
Weather Reporting: First Place, Hasley Pitman, WUFT-TV, “Creating a New Normal”
Feature – Historical/Cultural: Honorable Mention, Matthew Abramson, WUFT-FM, “Rolled Up Sleeves: Tattoo Bias In The Workplace

The awards were presented in a virtual ceremony on May 9.

Posted: May 11, 2020
Category: Alumni News, College News, Student News
Tagged as: