College News

Back to News

CJC Students Honored in the 2017 FAPB College and Professional Awards Competition

University of Florida College of Journalism and Communications students are among the finalists in the 2017 Florida Associated Press Broadcasters (FAPB) Awards Competition. In the College competition, Florida college and university students entered a record 55 news, weather and sports television and radio stories.

In the College Television competition, WUFT-TV students placed in 12 of 19 categories. The winners and runners-up are:
Feature Cultural/Historical: Ryan Roberts, “The First Cedar Key” (runner-up)
General Assignment: Maggie Lorenz, “3 Days After Matthew” (winner)
General Assignment Long Format: Marie Edinger, “Backyard Beekeepers” (winner)
Station Breaking News: WUFT-TV, “Hurricane Matthew Special Report” (winner)
Individual Breaking News: Nestor Montoya, “Pulse” (winner)
Continuing Coverage: Ryan Roberts, Kady Marlowe and James Fertil, “Pulse…the Gainesville Response” (winner)
Election Coverage: Darling Hill, “Election 2016” (winner)
Investigative: Danielle Prinz, “The Flood Insurance Mess” (winner)
Series/Franchise Reporting: Danielle Prinz, “Health and Medical Reporting” (winner)
Breaking Sports News: Ben Murphy ,”UF Finds Next AD” (winner)
Multi-Media Reporter (MMJ): Nestor Montoya (winner)
Reporter: Maggie Lorenz (winner)
Overall College Television Station of the Year: WUFT-TV

WUFT-FM students were the only finalists in all four radio categories. The finalists and winners are:
Hard News Feature: Briana Erickson, “Tragedy of Heroin Use”
Use of Sound for Radio: Danielle Prinz,”Food Deserts”
Individual Breaking News: Rebekkah Mar, “Pulse Vigil”
Long Format Breaking News: Danielle Frew, “Pulse Nightclub Live Report”

The FAPB Professional competition received 536 entries from 38 broadcast organizations. Students are judged alongside professionals in this competition and WUFT-FM entries were finalists in 7 out of 21 categories. The winners and runners-up are:

Radio General Assignment: Amaury Sablon and Caitie Switalski, “Haiti Devastated” (runner-up)
Radio Station Breaking News: WUFT-FM, “16-Year-Old Robert Dentmond Shot and Killed” (winner)
Radio Long Format Breaking News: Alexa Lorenzo and Chase Drayer, “Superintendent Resigns” (runner-up)
Radio Investigative: Briana Erickson, “A Life of Heroin” (winner)
Radio Series/Franchise Reporting: WUFT-FM, “Food Desert Problem in North Florida” (winner)
Radio Weather Reporting: Ryan Roberts, “Hermine Hits Cedar Key” (winner)
Website/Digital: News Team, WUFT-FM (winner)
Overall Radio Station of the Year: WUFT-FM

The FAPB Best Television Newscast and Overall Station of the Year designations for television and radio were announced at the Excellence Awards Gala on April 8 in Orlando.

Posted: March 20, 2017
Category: College News, Student News
Tagged as: ,