College News

Back to College News

CJC Students Win 5 Awards at the NBS-AERho Annual Student Electronic Media Competition

University of Florida College of Journalism and Communications Telecommunication News and  Production students won five grand prizes at the NBS Convention’s 53rd Annual Student Electronic Media Competition held March 16, 2016, in Burbank, California.

Winners included:

  • Video News Package:  Allison Valdez — “Humane Society”
  • Live Newscast:  Jacob Schrull — WUFT News First at Five, October 14, 2015
  • Video Program Opener:  Sami Wax, Jose Cervantes, Jessi Rojas, Matthew Szlasa  — “Ace Watergate and the Secrets Society Opening Sequence”
  • Video Entertainment  and/or Music Program:  Jacob Schrull — 2015 Homecoming Parade
  • Comedy Script:  Darren Cohn, Tara Hempstead, Nicole del Castillo, Sam Speedy, and Kenneth Stewart — “Ace Watergate & the Secrets Society” Episode 2 ​

The NBS-AERho Convention is put on by the National Broadcasting Society-Alpha Epsilon Rho. Their mission is to prepare college students for careers in electronic media industries through connecting students with practicing professionals and providing opportunities for leadership, community service and production.

Posted: March 17, 2016
Category: College News, Student Awards
Tagged as: