College News

Back to College News

Ann Christiano named UF’s 2014-2015 Teacher of the Year

Ann Christiano
Ann Christiano

Ann Christiano, the Frank and Betsy Karel Endowed Chair in Public Interest Communication and Professor of Public Relations at the University of Florida College of Journalism and Communications, was named the 2014-15 University of Florida Teacher of the Year, Dean Diane McFarlin announced today.

The award was presented Monday evening at UF’s annual Faculty Awards reception hosted by UF President Kent Fuchs.

Christiano is only the third College faculty member to receive this recognition. Journalism Professor Norm Lewis received the award in 2009-10 and Mike Foley, the Hugh Cunningham Professor in Journalism Excellence, won in 2006-07.

Christiano joined the College in 2010 to create and build its public interest communication program after directing communications for The Robert Wood Johnson Foundation’s Vulnerable Populations portfolio. The field of public interest communication is dedicated to using strategic communications to drive change, working in such areas as health, human rights, environment and poverty.

“This honor is a testament to the movement Ann has built on the UF campus around public interest communications,” said McFarlin. “She is changing lives by inspiring our students to steer their careers toward making the world a better place.”

In support of Christiano’s nomination, one of the College’s students stated: “To be so well-known after only a few short years at the University of Florida – for her kindness, the intellectual rigor of her experiential courses, and her extraordinary willingness to be a resource for her students – speaks to Professor Christiano’s merit for this award.”

In 2014, Christiano started the frank gathering, bringing together more than 300 public interest communicators from across the globe. The second annual frank gathering was held in February.

Posted: April 6, 2015
Category: College News
Tagged as: ,