MPMT Department Faculty Meeting 03/20/2024 Minutes of Meeting

1. Call to order

Meeting started at 10:00 a.m.

Faculty Present: Babanikos, Chan-Olmsted, Coche, Esterline, Lee, McNealy, Roberts, Selepak,

Shin, Sorel, Xu, Zawahry.

Absent: Coffey, Leslie, Ostroff, Wells.

2. MPMT Awards

Winners for MPMT awards were selected after discussion:

- Major Garland Powell Award for service in broadcasting: Luigi Bencosme & Ty Capellini
- May Burton award for excellence in media production: Isabel Crist & Nadia Cox
- F. Leslie Smith management award: Luis Lageyre
- MPMT Outstanding Student: Alexmary Fayiga

MPMT nominees for college awards were also selected after discussion:

- Dean's Cup for Scholarship: Alexmary Fayiga
- Dean's Cup for Service: Luis Lageyre
- Dean's Cup for Professional Promise: Nadia Cox
- Ruth and Rae O. Weimer Award: Nadia Cox

3. 03/06 Meeting Minutes

Thompson moved to approve minutes from 03/06. Seconded by Babanikos. Motion passed.

4. Old/New business

Coche encouraged faculty to send social media content to Selepak so he has content to post throughout the summer.

Coche reminded faculty of their meeting with Dean Kiousis on March 27 and informed everyone that Thompson was appointed chair of the MPMT bylaws task force. The task force will have an update for the department in the following scheduled meeting in April.

5. Adjournment

Adjourned at 10:28.