MPMT Department Faculty Meeting 03/06/2024 Minutes of Meeting

1. Call to order and minutes from 02/21

Meeting started at 10:01 a.m.

Faculty Present: Babanikos, Coche, Coffey, Esterline, Lee, McNealy, Roberts, Selepak, Shin, Sorel, Wells, Xu, Zawahry. Absent: Chan-Olmsted, Leslie, Ostroff

Coffey moved to approve minutes. Seconded by Thompson. Motion passed.

2. Curriculum

Coche postponed further curriculum discussions in great part for time purposes, but one item needed to be addressed quickly: changing the description for RTV3405 Media & Society. Selepak proposed new language. Lee moved to approve and Babanikos seconded. After discussion, the faculty approved the following description:

RTV3405: Explores the impact of the media on individuals, society, and culture. Challenges students to think critically about the media with an emphasis on developing media literacy skills.

3. MPMT Awards

Coche reiterated the college cannot approve a new departmental award.

Faculty approved a new description for the Major Garland Powell award:

Major Garland Powell was manager of UF's first radio station and a state-wide leader in shaping media's role in Florida. This award honors the student who embodies this spirit and exemplifies excellence in media production.

Faculty discussed students for the departmental awards, and discussion for the Dean's Cup awards was postponed. Students discussed will be asked to send a resume and one-paragraph biography so faculty can vote at a later time.

4. Adjournment

Thompson moved to adjourn. Sorel seconded. Adjourned at 10:02.