### Minutes from Curriculum and Teaching Committee Meeting Thursday, December 2, 2021 at 2:00 pm Via Zoom

Those present:James Babanikos (chair), Moni Basu, Eric Esterline, Robyn Goodman,<br/>Harrison Hove, Judy Hunter, Myiah Hutchins, David Ostroff, Ted Spiker.

Also, three students were present for the discussion of the Teacher of the Year, Adjunct Teacher of the Year, Faculty Advisor/Mentor of the Year, and Professional Advisor of the Year awards: Samantha Chery, Guamay Martell, Hamza Razuman.

#### Announcements

- Faculty senate approved the following calendar changes, which will take effect in 2024-25:
  - Longer winter break spring semester will start the second week of January.
  - No classes during Thanksgiving week.
  - Spring break will take place at the same time as Alachua public schools... probably around the 3<sup>rd</sup> week of March.
- The new VP of Enrollment Management and Associate Provost, Dr. Mary Parker, a couple of weeks ago sent the dean an email saying that our transfer student allotment for 2022-23 was 132 students. That number was unacceptable because we registered 304 transfer students this last year. He reached out to Mary Parker, and she revised that to:
  - $\circ$  Applications: 395
  - o Admits: 260
  - Enrolled: 220
    - She also added: "As we discussed if you believe that you may go over the 220 target please let me know so we can discuss. Let me know if you have any questions or concerns with the new target number."

### **Discussion Items**

### Selecting Teacher/Adjunct/Mentor/Advisor of the Year

- Selecting the Faculty Advisor/Mentor of the Year as well as the Professional Advisor of the Year was easy because there was only one applicant for each award:
  - Natalie Asorey, Lecturer in Public Relations, was the Faculty Advisor/Mentor of the Year winner.
  - Nicki Dankers was the Professional Advisor of the Year winner.

- There were three applicants for Teacher of the Year (Dan Windels, Rita Men, Dania Alexandrino), and three applicants for the Adjunct teacher of the Year (Kathleen (McGrory) Van sick, Robert Hughes, Sylvia Patricia Gethicker).
- Dania Alexandrino's title is Spanish-Language New Manager, and thus does not fit in this category as she is not a full-time faculty member, and so she was disqualified. However, the Committee decided that a new Teaching Award needed to be established for staff like her who also teach a course, and that will be proposed to the College's Dean and Executive Associate Dean.
- The committee discussed each applicant, and each member will send an email with their rankings to the committee chair by Monday, December 13<sup>th</sup> at 9:00 am. The committee chair will award 5 points for first place, 3 points for second place, and 1 point for third place, and the person with the most points will be declared the winner.

## **Approval of Courses and Certificates**

- These were approved by the committee:
  - o PUR4XXX: Inclusion, Diversity, Equity and Access in Public Relations
  - o ADV4XXX: Creative Certificate: Game-Changing Ad Ideas
  - ADV Creative Certificate

# **High/Highest Honors Clarification**

- In the November Curriculum and Teaching Committee meeting, the committee voted to change the criteria of what constitutes High/Highest Honors in the College by making it strictly gpa-based. Students will graduate with High Honors if their upper level and major gpa in 3.70 and above, and with highest honors if their upper level and major gpa is 3.85 and above. Students will also have to be free of any university or college academic integrity issues.

# The meeting ended at 2:58 pm.

# Minutes submitted by James Babanikos.