## Curriculum and Teaching Committee Report 2019-2020

The Committee: Michael Weigold (chair, until December 1, 2019), James Babanikos (chair, since December 1, 2019), Roxanne Coche, Marcia DiStaso, Pat Ford, Robyn Goodman, Mindy McAdams, David Ostroff, Ted Spiker, Houston Wells, Kasey Windels.

Below is a list of the main items we dealt with this year in the Curriculum and Teaching Committee:

**Teacher of the Year.** As it does every year, the Committee selected the Teacher of the Year and the Adjunct Teacher of the Year. Congratulations to Journalism Professor Moni Basu, who also won the university-wide Undergraduate Teacher of the Year award. And the Adjunct Teacher of the Year was Larry Clark from the Dept. of Public Relations.

Name change for the Dept. of Telecommunication. The committee voted unanimously to approve changing the name of the Dept. of Telecommunication to the Dept. of Media Production, Management and Technology, as it more clearly describes what the department does. The CJC Faculty Senate endorsed it yesterday.

**Diversity/Internationalization/Cultural Awareness.** There was discussion on how the four departments would incorporate diversity/internationalization/cultural awareness in the curriculum, and a report was prepared for the dean. Some of the key takeaways are: each department would be responsible for developing required, concentration-specific content or courses for their respective students; all departments believe that having one required class pertaining to issues of diversity/internationalization/cultural awareness that students take in their junior year is necessary; all departments also believe that we also need to incorporate issues of diversity/internationalization/cultural awareness into every class we teach.

**Changes to the Mass Communications Minor.** Students outside the College doing the Minor in Mass Communications have to choose 5 out of 12 classes to complete the degree. The Curriculum and Teaching Committee approved to add another 9 classes to that list to give the students more of a choice and thus make the degree more attractive and current. We need to vote on this in the fall.

**Distinction between HSAA and regular AA transfer students.** HSAAs are those students who completed their AA doing Dual Enrollment, i.e., while they were high school students, while the regular AA students are those who completed the AA at a college after graduating high school. Currently all transfer students have two years (including summers) to complete their degree. The Committee decided that it's unfair to treat HSAAs the same as the regular transfer AAs because they're younger and less mature, and we should be more flexible with them. The Committee thus decided that HSAA students would have a third year to complete their studies, should that become necessary for them.

**Outside area of concentration.** In describing the Outside Concentration, our website says: "Students in the College of Journalism and Communications are required to complete either an outside concentration or an official minor as part of the 124 hours required for graduation. The outside concentration may be elected as 12 hours in one academic department or 12 hours in an approved area of study recommended by the department to meet specific career goals. In either option, 9 of the 12 hours must be at the 3000 level or above, unless they are approved prerequisites." However, our current catalog doesn't include "...or 12 hours in an approved area of study recommended by the department specific career needs." So, there's a discrepancy. The Committee decided that the catalog's description should match the website's, and that if students want to pursue an outside concentration made up of courses from more than one department, then the chair needs to send a short email of approval to the Advising Office so it can be incorporated into the student's degree audit.