College of Journalism & Communications Faculty Senate Minutes of the November 30, 2017 meeting

Members attending: Eunice Kim, Michael Leslie, Norm Lewis, Kay Tappan, and Wayne Wanta

Members not attending: Mary Ann Ferguson, Carla Fisher (on leave), Spiro Kiousis, Churchill Roberts

Others attending: Randy Bennett, Mike Weigold

Agenda Item	Discussion and/or action taken	Follow-up
Call to order	Tappan called the meeting to order at 12:50 p.m.	
Teaching and Curriculum Committee	 Mike Weigold explained the procedure for the Teacher of the Year award. This year, students were asked to recommend faculty. An award for adjunct faculty was also added. This was the first year in quite some time that there was more than one applicant. Weigold also addressed the process for curriculum changes, which is carved out as faculty purview in shared governance. It was agreed this process should be further discussed in a January Faculty Senate meeting. 	Weigold will work with the T&C Committee to draft a formal procedure and timeline for the Teacher of the Year awards and will bring that back to Faculty Senate in the spring.
CJC Branding	 Randy Bennett explained that Frankel Media is working to create consistent messaging for the College. He is open to feedback from faculty regarding ideas. One faculty member suggested more focus on graduate students, namely expanding their bios online. 	
Tenure and Promotion Workshop	 Michael Leslie updated the Faculty Senate on the workshop, which will be held on Wednesday, January 17. A discussion ensued about including graduate students in the workshop. He also shared that the Faculty Welfare and Development Committee has been talking about a sponsorship program that would go beyond mentoring. 	
Bylaws edits	• The Faculty Senate agreed that suggested edits could be presented at the Senate-called all-faculty meeting on December 7.	
Weimer Signage	• Randy Wright will present a proposal to the Faculty Senate at some point in early spring.	

Approval of minutes	• Minutes from the November 2, 2017 meeting were unanimously approved.	

The meeting was adjourned at 1:50 p.m. Respectfully submitted by Kay Tappan