College News

Back to College News

UFCJC Students and Faculty Honored in 2023 BEA Festival of Media Arts Competition

University of Florida College of Journalism and Communications (UFCJC) students and faculty have received awards in the 2023 Broadcast Education Association (BEA) Festival of Media Arts competitions. The competition results include 299 student winners from 82 different colleges and universities and 60 faculty winners from 46 colleges and universities.

In the Student News Competition, “Flying Golf Carts” by Journalism senior Ophelie Jacobson received “Best of Festival” in the Television News Long Feature category. In the Film & Video Faculty Competition: Narrative, Iman Zawahry, UFCJC Media Production, Management, and Technology (MPMT) lecturer, received the “Best of Competition“ award for “Americanish” and UFCJC MPMT Professor Tim Sorel received “Best of Competition” in the Faculty Documentary Competition: Micro-Documentary for “The Heart of a Rose.”

The full list of honorees includes:

Student News Competition:

Student Sports Competition:

  • Video Sports Story/Feature (Short): Award of Excellence: “Frame Running Athlete Represents USA in Portugal” by Shailey Klein
  • Video Sports Story/Feature (Short): Award of Excellence:Rivalry & Traditions: Florida-Georgia in Jax” by Chris Will
  • Video Sports Story/Feature (Long): Third Place: “Pickleball: From Sport to Social Event” by Macie Goldfarb

Student Film & Video Competition: Narrative Category

  • First Place: “Artifice” by Christopher Hall, Cassidy Campbell, Kayla Hyppolite, Max Layland and Jacob Chabot. The film was produced in Zawahry’s Narrative Collaborative Filmmaking class.
  • Third Place: “The Aftermath” by Callie Carpinteri, Jill Dingus, Emilee Ford and Harrison Reisler. The film was produced in UFCJC Media Production, Management and Technology Professor James Babanikos’ Dramatic Production class.
  • Award of Excellence: “Lavender” by Jorge Garcia, Jessie Li White, Haley Mueller, Logan Sork and Michel Thomas. The film was produced in Zawahry’s Narrative Collaborative Filmmaking class.
  • Award of Excellence: “Mi Media Naranja” by Diego Orozco, Laura San Juan, Justin Yoon, Abigail Jarvis and Yuchen Huang. The film was produced in Zawahry’s Narrative Collaborative Filmmaking class.

Student Documentary Competition:

  • Short Form Documentary: Award of Excellence: “Triple Thread” by Deren Kaya, Angelina Silva, Anabella Zorrilla. The film was produced in UFCJC Senior Lecturer Houston Wells’ Documentary Production class.

Faculty Film & Video Competition:

  • Best of Competition: Iman Zawahry for “Americanish “

Faculty Documentary Competition:

  • Best of Competition: Tim Sorel for “The Heart of a Rose”

The winners will be celebrated at the BEA2023 Conference on April 16-17 in Las Vegas.

Posted: March 2, 2023
Category: Alumni News, College News, Student News
Tagged as: , , , ,