College News

Back to College News

CJC Journalists are Honored at the Hearst Journalism Awards National Championships

Three University of Florida College of Journalism and Communications (CJC) student journalists were honored at the Hearst Journalism Awards National Championships ceremony on June 7. Alexa Lorenzo, B.S. Telecommunication 2018, received the top honor for TV reporting and a $10,000 scholarship. Drea Cornejo, B.S. Journalism 2018, received third place in the Multimedia category and a $4,000 scholarship, and Telecommunication junior Dolores Hinckley was one of two finalists in the Radio category receiving a $1,500 grant.

2018 Hearst winners
News Manager Forrest Smith, Dolores Hinckley, Drea Cornejo, Dean Diane McFarlin, Alexa Lorenzo, News Managers Harrison Hove and Gary Green

CJC was tied with the University of Nebraska-Lincoln for the most finalists and the College placed fourth overall in the competition, which is considered the Pulitzer Prize of college journalism.

The three CJC students placed within the top five of the earlier Hearst Awards Intercollegiate Competition qualifying them for the National Championships held in San Francisco from June 3-7. In the TV and radio competition, Lorenzo and Hinckley created on-the-spot stories on the San Francisco Bay Area housing crisis. Cornejo was tasked with capturing cultural diversity in the Bay Area.

The Hearst Championships are the culmination of the 2017 – 2018 Journalism Awards Program, which were held in 105-member universities of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication with accredited undergraduate journalism programs.

In the Hearst Intercollegiate Competition, CJC received 13 honors, including one first-place winner (Drea Cornejo for Multimedia News) and 11 top-10 winners. CJC was fourth best of all participating programs (based on highest combined student points), including second place in the Broadcast Radio and TV category, sixth in the Writing category, and fourth in Multimedia.

The Hearst Journalism Awards are the most prestigious awards for undergraduate journalism offering up to $500,000 in scholarships. The program holds yearlong competitions in writing, photojournalism, TV and radio news and multimedia.

Posted: June 11, 2018
Category: College News, Student News
Tagged as: