College News

Back to News

Forrest Smith Receives Florida Associated Press Broadcasters Legacy Award

Forrest Smith
Forrest Smith

Forrest Smith, B.S Broadcasting 1981, University of Florida College of Journalism and Communications deputy morning news director of the Innovation News Center, will receive the inaugural Legacy Award chosen by the board of the Florida Associated Press Broadcasters (FAPB).

Three news professionals were selected for the inaugural honor out of dozens of nominations. To be considered individuals must have contributed at least 25 years of service to broadcast journalism and possess a commitment to excellence, character, and leadership. Smith’s news and teaching career spans more than 35 years at both WRUF and WUFT.

In addition to Smith, Peter King, CBS News Radio correspondent, and Helga Silva, WSCV Telemundo 51, vice president, news and content, will be honored. The Legacy Awards and the winners of the 2016 FAPB College and Professional Awards will be announced at the Excellence Awards Gala on April 8 in Orlando.

Posted: March 20, 2017
Category: Alumni News, College News
Tagged as: , , ,