COLLEGE FACULTY SENATE MEETING DECEMBER 7, 2017

Present: Debbie Treise, Yulia Strekalova, Janice Krieger, Sylvia Chan-Olmsted, Cynthia Morton, Rita Men, Mary Ann Ferguson, Yu-Hao Lee, Jasmine McNealy, Ron Rogers, Ted Spiker, Tim Sorel, Houston Wells, Andy Selepak, Michael Leslie, Tom Kelleher, Bob Gruppe, Mike Weigold, Wayne Wanta, Eunice Kim, Herbert Lowe, Matt Sheehan, Jordan Alpert, Huan Chen, Mike Foley, Marcia Distaso, John Freeman, Eric Esterline, Mindy McAdams, Amy Jo Coffey, Norman Lewis, Kim Walsh-Childers, Deanna Pelfrey, Diane McFarlin, Linda Hon, Frank LoMonte, Frank Waddell, Dave Carlson, Bridget Grogan, Jon Morris, David Ostroff, Churchill Roberts, Kay Tappan

Absent: Carla Fisher, Clay Calvert, Sandi Chance, Sri Kalyanaraman, John Kaplan, Bernell Tripp, John Wright, Ann Christiano, Mark Leeps, Kathy Kelly, Moon Lee, James Babanikos, Spiro Kiousis

After faculty approved the minutes of the April 20 meeting, Senate chair Kay Tappan reviewed the work of the Senate to date. She said the Senate called for a tenure and promotion workshop, and met with various committee chairs to discuss each committee's work. These committees included the Teaching and Curriculum Committee, Faculty Development and Welfare Committee, Budget and Long-range Planning Committee, and Technology Committee. The goal was to streamline service and determine which committees were essential. Most committees should meet at least once a semester, but in the case of the Budget and Long-range Planning Committee, the recommendation was for this committee to meet on an as needed basis. (See Kay's attached PowerPoint presentation for an overview of the meeting.)

Deanna Pelfrey reported that the Faculty Development and Welfare Committee is planning a Tenure and Promotion workshop next semester focusing on mentoring. Also, it will be hosting a workshop, "Understanding Faculty Evaluation," Wednesday, 17 January 2017 from 11:45 a.m. to 1:30 p.m. in Weimer 3032. (A complete copy of Deanna's report is attached.)

Mike Weigold reported on the process of selecting teacher of the year. The university establishes the criteria. While the form for applicants may be time-consuming, Weigold said he does everything possible to encourage faculty to apply. When asked whether faculty could self-nominate, he said they could. Also, the college has expanded the criteria for selection so that adjuncts or staff who teach can also apply for an award. For this year, Advertising faculty member Robyn Goodman has been selected as the college's teacher of the year. The adjunct teacher or staff teacher of the year has yet to be selected. (Mike's complete report is attached.)

The Senate looked at the college by-laws and made several recommendations which are included in the chair's attached report. The only problem seems to be in figuring out when a meeting should be called (and who should call it) to determine future committee chairs. A work in progress!

Chair Tappan also reported on a Weimer signage task force led by Randy Wright to improve signage in the college. Randy plans to give a report to the Senate by mid-January. Dave Carlson suggested that name plates be inserts so they can be easily changed if an office occupant or function changes. Dean McFarlin said the college is looking at digital signage—touch screens—for the Flanagan Wing. Mary Ann Ferguson emphasized the need to make the AHA area disability friendly, and Tim Sorel suggested the opening and closing times be changed to 7 in the morning and 7 at night.

Finally, the chair announced the spring schedule for Faculty Senate meetings.

Respectfully submitted by:

Churchill Roberts